The Phi Kappa Literary Society is a debate society at the University of Georgia. We meet every academic Thursday at Phi Kappa Hall on North Campus at 7 p.m.

All with an insatiable appetite for knowledge and oratory are welcome.


Should the U.S. Government Increase Funding for GMO Research?

Join the Phi Kappa Literary Society this Thursday and make your opinion on genetically modified food known as members and guests alike debate “Be It Hereby Resolved: GMO research warrants increased funding from the United States government.” Brother Dominic Giordano will affirm the resolution and Brother Andrew Plaskowsky will negate. 



BIHR: Genetically modified organism crop research warrants increased funding from the United States government.

Genetically modified organism (GMO) - Any crop or plant produced which has had its genome modified

Research - The gloriously underappreciated, painstakingly tedious, systematic process of acquiring new knowledge and devising new ways to use that knowledge

Warrants - To give support, formal assurance, a guarantee or promise

Increased - more than the current amount

Funding - a supply of money

United States government - The large federal republic located between Mexico and Canada. For more information:


Creative Writings & Orations will follow later in the evening.

Founded in 1820, the Phi Kappa Literary Society is a student debate organization committed to the mental and moral elevation of it members through the mediums of debate and oratory. Guests are welcome and encouraged to speak on matters of debate every academic Thursday at 7 P.M. in the historic Phi Kappa Hall on North Campus (across the quad from the Holmes-Hunter Academic Building). There is no required dress code for guests, although most choose to wear business casual as members typically dress in business attire.


Should The State Be Required To Provide Trans* Inmates With The Resources To Transition?

If an inmate in a Correctional Facility identifies as transexual and wishes to undergo hormone therapy and gender reassignment surgeries, does the state have an obligation to pay for the medications and procedures?

To what extent does the state have an obligation to provide services to those under it’s care because they have committed a crime?

These are hotly debated topics in states and prisons across the contry, now more than ever in light of announcements by Chelsea Manning.

Please come with an open mind and a strong argument to the Phi Kappa Literary Society’s next debate on August 29th at 7:00 pm.

We look forward to having you.


The Phi Kappa Literary Society Debates Stand Your Ground Laws

What constitutes self defense? 

To what extent does a persons right to protect themselves extend and where do the rights of others supercede it?

On Thursday the 15th, beggining at 6:30pm the Phi Kappa Literary Society and our guests will debate these issues and share our writings and ideas. Join us in discussion!


Thinking about joining Phi Kappa? Hear what PK alumni have to say

Over the past 193 years, thousands of students at the University of Georgia have found a home in Phi Kappa Hall. Through oratory and debate, Phi Kappa has cultivated the self-esteem that is necessary in all walks of life and polished the speaking and critical thinking skills of all who put forth the requisite effort (many of whom have no previous public speaking or debate experience). Current members and alumni have formed lifelong friendships with their fellow Phi Kappans. Alumni have gone on to careers as politicians, lawyers, academics, teachers, and writers, among other notworthy professions. Several alumni recently reminisched about their time as active members of Phi Kappa and the impact that Phi Kappa has had on their post-UGA life:

“As a litigation attorney, I can safely say my years in Phi Kappa contributed more to the success of my practice than 99% of my law classes.  Through Phi Kappa, I learned the power of persuasion, effective writing skills, thorough critical analysis, and (most importantly) how to remain calm and think on my feet when before a judge, jury, or hostile witness.” –Brother Robert Alan Hawk, UGA Law Class of 2010, Attorney at Robert A. Hawk, PC

“Phi Kappa has given me the skills to be comfortable in front of any audience, and the joy of life long friendships.” -Sis. Erin McClanahan, Class of 2005, graduate student in education at UGA

“Phi Kappa did more to prepare me for law school than the entirety of my undergraduate career.” -Br. John Miller, Class of 2000 and 2003, Attorney at Miller and Brown, PC

“My time at Phi Kappa was one of the most memorable in my life. I can’t think of any other experience where I engaged in meaningful discourse on such a wide range of topics.” -Br. Jason Orlosky, Class of 2012, PhD Student at Osaka University, Japan

Phi Kappa meets every Thursday at 7 pm during the fall and spring semesters. Meetings include a first debate, creative writings and orations, a trip to Taco Stand, and a second (usually) humorous debate. Meetings are open to the public and guests are encouraged (but not required) to speak. Any questions about visiting or joining the Society can be directed to Sister Abie Smith (, incoming first assistant and chair of the public relations committee, or Brother Matt Tyler (, president-elect for the fall 2013 semester.


5 Tips for Incoming UGA Freshmen

The transition from high school to university can be a startling one. You’re leaving home for the first time and entering into a sea of unknown faces as you (hopefully) strive to further your education. So, check out out short list of great tips for making the most out of those first few weeks at UGA in Athens, GA.

Click to read more ...

Page 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 24 Next 5 Entries »