The Phi Kappa Literary Society is a debate society at the University of Georgia. We meet every academic Thursday at Phi Kappa Hall on North Campus at 7 p.m.

All with an insatiable appetite for knowledge and oratory are welcome.



The Literary Society at UGA:

The Phi Kappa Literary Society is a debate organization founded in 1820 at University of Georgia. We meet once per week during the academic year to practice oratory, debate, and creative writing. Our members strive to develop the necessary skills to present their views in an articulate and logical fashion while discerning the strengths and weakness of other positions. Through time spent in our Hall, we sharpen the public speaking skills vital to success in the professional world. As members, we forge bonds of friendship that will last a lifetime.

A typical meeting begins at 7PM with a prepared debate (the topic of which is announced here) followed by creative writings and orations. The meeting then moves downtown for refreshments and an opportunity to socialize, and concludes with lighthearted auxiliary debate. More information about the Society is on the guests page, but ultimately, the best way to find out about Phi Kappa is to attend a meeting and decide for yourself. Guests are always welcome and encouraged (though not obligated) to speak.

Staff Advisor

Brother Dr. Gary Bertsch - Professor Emeritus

Officers for Spring 2015

President - Sister Kristin Henry
First Assistant - Brother Richard Banton
Second Assistant - Sister Katherine La Mantia
Chief Justice - Sister Shreya Singh
Associate Justices - Brother Will Dasher and Brother Clark Veazey
Historian - Sister Sarah Anne Owens
Alumni Secretary - Sister Abie Smith
Clerk - Brother Austin Hattori
Clavinger - Brother Hunter Smith
Webmaster - Sister Halle Hammond
Treasurer - Sister Song Kue 
Censor - Brother Phil Grant 

Other Current Active Members

Brother Graham Hord
Sister Victoria Pekala
Brother Ryan Mikulka
Sister Alexis Robinson
Brother Ben Walker
Brother Andrew Plaskowsky
Brother Joseph Summer
Sister Kelly Olivo
Brother Roger Grantham
Brother Seong Kim
Sister Amanda Hobby 
Brother J.P. Hackney